New in 90

Read the New Testament in 90 Days!

Day 3: John 7-9

Today’s reading comes from John 7-9 follow the link providedhere to read the ESV online.

I told you that you would die in your sins, for unless you believe that I am he you will die in your sins.” – John 8:24

I am deeply moved by today’s reading.  Jesus is suffering the rejection of the people. His “time had not yet come.” His brothers had been inviting Him to go to the feast and to make a great name for Himself.  He reminds them that He is hated and He can not go at the time of their choosing. He is on a mission. (One day He will be recognized as the True King, but as for now He will be rejected).

All throughout the gospel of John we are reminded that Jesus has come to be the true light. He has come to reveal God, expose hearts and ultimately bring healing to the nations.  Have you noticed the repetitive themes? Jesus is the light. Jesus is from Heaven. Jesus will be lifted up. Jesus came to his own, but was rejected. Those who receive him are given the right to become children of God.

My friend and pastor Chris Aiken has been blogging about the inevitable choice that is presented when people come into an encounter with Jesus (will they receive Him or reject Him). He makes some very excellent and valid points. I’m eager to read what he has posted today (I haven’t read his blog yet)!

What moved me to worship today was the brief promise of the Holy Spirit (John 7:37-39). He is the Spirit alive in me that gives me the only real power I have ever had to overcome temptation and begin to reject sin in my life. I was reminded once again that God has not just delivered me from darkness but sustains me to walk in the light.

Application: How about you? What are you counting on to change you?  God hasn’t just paid for your sin, He has also provided for you to walk in righteousness.

What about you? What did you take away from today’s passage? What are your thoughts?

Don’t forget to also check out Chrisaiken.wordpress.com for Pastor Chris Aiken’s insights and thoughts on today’s reading. Below are some of my older Posts concerning today’s Reading:

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Day 3: John 7-9

  1. pastorjonathan1 on said:

    Thank you!

    Fantastic thoughts and comments.

  2. Thank you for doing this, it has been great!
    I was struck by the following passages.

    7:26 The people look to the rulers for direction and almost accuse the rulers of knowing He was the Christ but not admitting to it.

    7:27 The people then question themselves in a way but their rationale for unbelief is that they know where He came from and certainly the Messiah would be more mysterious than that.

    How often people look outwardly rather than inwardly for direction. Even after introspection oftentimes we look for confirmation from an outside source and not finding one we then begin to find rationale to support that our thinking was erroneous. This of course is related directly to faith or the lack thereof. How hard it is to have faith when outward appearances relay something different than what we think inwardly and when outside influences support the unbelief how hard it is then to trust what we believe inwardly. James 1:6b- The one who doubts is like the surf of the sea, driven and tossed by the wind;

    8:28 “When you lift up the Son of Man then you will know I am He.”

    He is basically saying, “once you see then you will believe”. This is true for far too many people- “seeing is believing”. I wonder how awful I would have felt, had I lived in this time period, seeing Him on the cross and realizing that He had proclaimed the truth and because of my unbelief, I missed an opportunity to spend time with the Saviour.

    John 20:28 “Blessed are they who did not see, and yet believed.”

    I pray for more faith to believe in the loving kindness of such a sacrificial Savior so that I can believe in His wisdom and guidance in every circumstance in my life regardless of the outward appearance and thus not miss an opportunity to spend intimate time with the Saviour.

Leave a comment